travel journal part 5 : Yeosu + Namhae | This is Korea !

Hello everyone ~

Before skipping this very last LONG TIME DUE travel post part of South Korea ( . . . )
here is a short insight to the last days in South Korea !
The trip to the southern part of South Korea was definitely refreshing and soooo worth it !
I recommend everyone to not only come to South Korea to visit Seoul ( which is definitely the most interesting part ) but also other parts of the country !
I will definitely return to discover other cities too for example Busan ~
Anyway – the first thing we did after arriving in the south and after arriving by high speed train was this delicious goodiness of a Korean dish :
Korea is famous for its many hearty and spicy stews and this one was filled up with lots of fish and vegetables and ricecakes !
We visited a small village called 

Namhae

Upon arriving there I felt a very familiar atmosphere there . . . haha not really !
But it somehow looked very western ~
This stone is right at the gates of the small village and tells about the friendship between South Korea and Germany ( or some kind of relationship ) . In the past there used to be a deficit of laborers in Germany since everyone was busy building up the postwar cities . That was when a lot of South Korean went to Germany in order to feed their families back home and also help out in Germany .
The museum in Namhae talks about a lot of South Korean men working in Germany as workers in the coal mines ( which is actually in the area I live ) and women working as nurses .
As a thanks for all their hard work despite the distance seperating the workers from their families , South Korea built this German style village to honor them .
To make them feel comfortable once they return to South Korea .
I think it’s a really nice village and the view is astonishing .
If you are interested in staying short time in this village , you can simply book a stay in one of these cute German style house ~
After taking off from the cute village we visited a buddhist temple far away from cities and noises :
The Boriam Temple in Namhae is truely beautiful .
The walk to the top might be a little breathtaking . . . but the view from the top is sure to worth it !
I have seen a lot of beautiful temples so far and I must admit I am in love with religious places because I can sense the effort and detailing put into everything and the calmness . I just wish that in China there would be much less people and much less noise at such places so you could enjoy the atmosphere much more . . .
JUST LOOK AT THIS DETAILING !
I loooove it it’s so beautiful . I could stare at such patterns and corners for a long time and think about the logic and symbols haha ~
No joke . I would if I had the time I really would !
These eight stones we stapled upon each other in the hopes of a wish coming true .
It is said that upon visiting the temple and the mountain of the Boriam Temple one lifetime wish will come true .
Then you have to staple some stones upon each other and wish for it .
And to not got mainstream like the others with ending the stapling with 4-6 stones . . .
we thought we could make use of the holy number of 8 and staple 8 stones .
Don’t tell me it’s not about who got the most .
I just wanted to sho off my skills or whatever haha ~
After visiting some other beautiful spots ( which name I could not get due to non-english guide ) we had another feast ~
Looking at these foodographies from back then . . . I really wish I could have this again . . .
right now .
STARVING OVER HERE . . . . . .
The next big stop before heading back to Seoul and ending our entire South Korea trip was :

YEOSU

Beautiful beautiful Yeosu but I bet everything could have been much much more beautiful ( and enjoyable ) if only the weather would have been a little less cold .
I remember now with writing this :
Yeosu was about ten degrees warmer than Seoul haha ~
That being said . . . you should know Seoul was about -15 degree . . .
So as a matter of facts it was still too cold for me in Yeosu but I tried to enjoy it anyway !
These photos could look a little more lively after some editing coz obviously there was some light missing here and there :P
But having been there in person I can tell you – it was without a doubt a viewtiful scenery ~
This sign I found somewhere nearby a tourist spot I HAD to take a photo of .
Even at that time I already doubted a little that I would remember all the things I would eat in Korea .
This sign would tell me the names of the most famous local dishes there .
Guess I really did forget the names making this photo worth a lot to me haha ~
Sadly I can’t really remember the ingredients of some of these dishes haha ~
This last dinner in the south of South Korea was soooo good !
It was not in Yeosu but somewhere a little more to the north .
It was right opposite to a reservoir :
I remember paying 30000 Won per person ( which is a lot . . . ) but you could have all-u-can-eat of all the side dishes there !
And these side dishes were AWESOME !
Sooooo much seafood – I love seafood !
After this trip to South Korea I had to eat a lot of super healthy stuff to balance out the super salty and spicy dishes I had in Korea . . . with fruits n fruits n lots of fruits !
And good old chinese soups ~
We went back to Seoul after this dinner and visit of the reservoir .
The next day I got to meet up with a friend I know from back in Germany !
It was a coincidence that he would also visit Korea at that time and he just came from Busan etc. so we had the chance to meet in Seoul ~
We had a nice dinner with spicyyyy squid !
LOVE IT HAHA ~
After that we went to KTV ~
It was a spontaneous decision but it was funny all the way !
And this marks the end of my memorable visit of South Korea !
Finally got to wrap this up !
Look forward to my long-time-due JAPAN TRIP POSTS !
Coming shortly ~
lots ‘n’ lots of love ~
~jen
Leave a Reply

