travel journal part 2 : Seoul | This is Korea ! | spa experience + Kwangjang Market

Hello everyone !

In this post I will tell you about my funny experience at the spa ( yea – like in Korean TV drama haha ) and at local markets like the Kwangjang Market ~
Oh yes I didn’t expect to be taken to the spa but we actually stayed over here since it really is cheaper than a hotel and this particular spa we stayed at is really good and well known .
Because it’s not tourist season ( too fcking cold I guess ) there weren’t many people at the spa which made the whole experience even more relaxing !

I couldn’t possibly get a picture to show you the bathing area but let me tell you it was really interesting .

I never went to a public bath before and so I was feeling a little uncomfortable getting completely undressed in front of all everyone ( women area of course ) and then going to the bathing area x.x
But the many bath tubs / water basins with different healthy and revitalizing substances really helped me forget about feeling awkward and made me want to stay all day haha ~

I guess the baths are the most valuable part of the spa but the institution actually had several floors !

Sooo many floors and rooms and areas – since everything was new to me everything was so interesting to me !
I am glad that there were only a few other guests so I could sneakily take some photos hehe ~
The above photo shows one of the main areas the meeting place where women and men can meet up again after their shower and bath in the lower level .
The following photo shows the cute entrances to some of the many fomentation rooms .
I actually never heard of the word ” fomentation ” before so I’m not sure if it is used correctly by them . I just hope it is . . . XD
The following photo is the the Red Clay Cave sleeping area in the top level .
I didn’t sleep here and – I didn’t sleep in the sleeping area at all .
I simply slept in one of the fomentation rooms which are quite small so that there are less people to disturb me sleeping ( by snoring or other noises ) .
Plus it was super cozy warm haha ~
After bathing you relax with some ice cold rice drink ( super refreshing ! ) and boiled egg which originally are boiled in the hot water tubs of a spa :D
Not the best dinner I had in Seoul being at the spa made it somewhat special anyway :
cold noodles + seaweed soup + lots of side dishes
Damn I just LOVE Korean side dishes .
One of the reasons I love Korean cuisine so much ~
Next morning we went to a market which is well known for its rice cakes ~
I looove korean rice cake and here they come in special styles :
Crispy hot and spicy or plain salted with oil honey coating .
I preferred the spicy one which may as well be more unhealthy haha ~
So I had a whole pot of this !
No way I could finish all this .
I had a much smaller plate XD
foodography, journal, korea, korean food, korean spa, kwangjang market, rice cake, seoul, south korea, travel, trip,
This is the glazy plain rice cake which is crispier than the spicy one .
Seeing this now while writing about it I want to have rice cake omg . . .
Another market I visited another day was really full of people and everyone was having traditional Korean pancake / pizza ( that’s how Geon called it ) and raw beef tartar and kimbap and a whole lot of fried veggies .
The fried pancakes were super oily but soooo crispy and good ~
They pre-fry this so you could chose to have them as take-away as they are cooled down or refry them so you can instantly enjoy them .
My friend introduced me to Yukhoe – spiced raw beef with eggyolk .
The taste was really good and it was much better than I thought it would be but I refrained from having too much of this x.x
I really like the market though there were so many people .
It can’t be compared to chinese markets and I like how the people would sit next to the stalls to enjoy freshly fried food served in front of them despite the cold weather .
How I would loooove to visit this place again . . . ~
I hope I can somehow learn to make that Korean pancake or the rice cake fried like that by myself !
Anywayyy – I really reaaaaally recommend you guys to visit the local markets to get cheap and yummy Korean food . You would miss something if you don’t !
Coming next is my 3rd part of the travel journal :
Seoul | This is Korea ! | Bukchon + Ihwa | villages of Seoul
lots ‘n’ lots of love ~
~jen
Leave a Reply

