MERRY AND LOVELY XMAS wishes from Beijing !

Hello everyone ~
I don’t know whether you have the luck of enjoying a white christmas or you are somewhere lying in the sun or hiding inside to avoid getting yourself killed ( by smog apparently ) but
I am wishing you all the best and a
VERY MERRY AND LOVELY CHRISTMAS
with the ones you hold dear and I hope you can enjoy some fine dining and get a little something from your beloved ones to show you how much you mean to them .
I LOVE the artist of this chinese grumpy cat haha ~
Still need to buy the book – I took a photo of this illustration from Cloudy’s book :)
I finally finished my final exams and I guess I did quite good hehe ~
I am happy about being a diligent student when it actually pays off :3
Compared to my student time in Germany I have so much more freetime here in Beijing so I decided to start kind of a part-time job next year ~
For now I spent a lot of time baking because it’s been years since I made christmas cookies !
They look simple but taste good :D
But despite being done with this semester I am not returning to Germany so it will be my first time to celebrate Christmas not with my family . . .
Yea I have always ever had Christmas with family because I think there is no thing more important than family .
There are definitely exceptions but my family will always always be right behind me in case anything happens .
What happened to my sister and how much affected they were showed me the love my family gives .
Even though I find it a little sad that they don’t usually show it but I think it is kind of Chinese not to openly say how one feels so I grew used to that haha ~
In anyway . . . being so far away from my beloved ones I am missing them a lot and can’t help but feel lonely these days . Especially now when it’s Christmas once again .
But thanks to a wonderful person I got to meet here in Beijing I won’t be all alone here and I am receiving a lot of love from that person .
Thank you :)
Cheap but srsly nice looking Christmas tree ~
You know I don’t like glitter and sparkle and such things but I make an exception fro Christmas I guess :D
I wanted to cook something special but because there was no gas to use for cooking I only could use the oven . So I spontanously came up with this wrapped in foil dish :)
Ahhh ~ how I love cooking <3
  
  

The important thing about this dish was the freshness of the salmon ( Y IS SALMON SO EXPENSIVE HERE ? ? ? ) and the sauce which is based on tomatoes + masalan curry spices + garlic + fresh lemons + oil + salt + pepper giving the dish a very unique and deep flavor ~

There is something I stumbled upon and wanted to share with you which has something to do with Christmas ( of course haha – but maybe some of you already know that saying x.x ? )
I just came to know where the saying
Ten Frenchman don’t make an Englishman .
 
 comes from and I really didn’t believe it at first . . .
Well I read it on 9gag and that might have made me doubt the liability haha ~
So after that I instantly did some web research :
Did you know that on Christmas 1914 some German soldiers made a truce with some British soldiers somewhere in Belgium at the battle fronts of World War I ?
 
At that time they shared whatever they had ( alcohol , cigarettes for instance ) with each other and chatted like there was no war . Just a few days after the ceasefire ended on 27nth of December 1914 they resumed to war .
Yea . . . it might be a VERY extreme example of celebrating and thinking of the meaning behind Christmas . I just think how absurd it is to be fraternising each other and then be at each others throats in the next moment .
That’s just war . Making people stupid .
RLLY DAMN STUPID .
But though being part of something so stupid – people can still be like this .
That’s something that positively fascinated me and I just wanted to tell you about it in case you didn’t know about this :)
By the wayyyy ~
Do you know the meaning / origins of Christmas :D ?
Thanks to my religious education teacher I always got reminded and know it by heart now haha ~
I don’t make New Years resolutions ( rlly I don’t like doing this – just trying my best and keep moving forward in the best possible way is what I’ll do and I think that is fine )
BUT I do like to look back at what happened and make a resumé / evaluation of this year :
  1. I have finished my Bachelor studies and am now Bachelor of Science in Architecture !
  2. I got the chance to travel to China and started learning Chinese here ( mandarin + characters )
  3. met some great and inspiring people who I would have never come across to otherwise
  4. learned some important life lessons from those people
  5. learned about my origins culture and history ( which I think is pretty important haha )

 

Not a long list but I definitely can say about 2015 that every obstacle was worth getting by every decision right or wrong made me grow into someone I am proud to be .

I hope that if you look back at this years events you can also see how you grew from all the experiences no matter if they were sad or good .
Sad memories make good memories even better :D And in moments of sadness some things become even more warm and good . 
Oh yea – did you watch the Pixar / Disney animation movie INSIDE OUT ? If not – watch it as soon as possible !

Another children story but with deep and great meaning :)
And I actually think that the story is really interesting ~
Whoever came up with this is genius !Anyway – wishing I wish you merry and jolly holidays !
Hear from me soon next year ~

lots ‘n’ lots of love ~
~jen

2 thoughts on “MERRY AND LOVELY XMAS wishes from Beijing !

Leave a Reply

