Shopping and Dining in Mong Kok ! / 3 weeks in Hong Kong – part 2

Hello everyone ~
It’s been about three weeks since my last update and I am already back in Germany ! Sadly . . .
There will be about 5 more posts ( so many photos ~ ) about my trip to Hong Kong and this is already the second one :3
I hope you’ll like it !
I have a lot of relatives spread all over the world .
I don’t even know how many haha . . . Too many Yuens out there .
This time I got to meet this cute little girl here ~
This is Maya and she is actually half chinese half japanese !
Her beautiful japanese mother is standing in the background hehe ~
She’s just 1 year and 3 months old <3

They live in a typical Hong Kong flat with a window sight similar to this :

You only get these views unless you are really wealthy and you can afford a flat with greener view or even a house :D
Everytime I am in Hong Kong I need to go to Mong Kok for shopping ~
It#s the district with the most people and at weekend or only holidays the streets are packed with masses of people .
Glad I went there on a week day !
There are actually a whole lot of new shops there . Most of them are korean beauty brands such as this one :
Can’t possibly miss it . It’s Etude House ~

There is a street , a center for any of your cravings in Mong Kok .

The only thing you need to know is where to go .

You can easily get lost not finding anything you want like I did haha . . .

The first shopping centers I entered had the themes men’s clothing and formal wear . . .

Then I finally found this haha :

I actually bought one ~

These iphone cases looked just too adorable ~ !

After a long shopping day we had dinner at one of the many sushi restaurants in Mong Kok !

You need to be careful when choosing a sushi restaurant ! Otherwise you may risk to get sick . . .

Which is why I got recommended to this restaurant by a friend of mine ~

Saw lots of crazy , cute and adorable stuff in Mong Kok . . . like this haha :

You may probably know this weird little peach here :
Kobito Dukan peach dwarf
Yes, he is of the same series as the weirdos above !
I soon wanted this . . . but it was too expensive and didn’t even include the toy food !
You had to buy them separately !
Gao Zhi – a little snack while shopping ~
Beautiful cakes ~ But who would ever eat this ? !
Best takoyaki in Mong Kok ~ Yummyyy <3

I went to Mong Kok twice actually :P

I didn’t buy that much the first time and at the second time I went there with a local friend who showed me around !

No more getting lost with here haha ~

We also went to a “secret” shop in the top floors of a building – had to take a lift to the shop !

It was full of imported japanese and korean goods ~

Japanese snacks which were cheaper than in supermarkets ~

My friend also showed me this awesome korean restaurant in which I had my first ever very typical korean dish called :

Budae Jjigae

It’s a hot pot served with lots of meat , ramyun noodles , veggies and spicy soup .

It’s not that old of a tradition but is really popular as it is very easy and a bunch of people can share it ~

Fried rice cake with cheese filling and cheese topping !
Only tastes good while still hot !
Korean beef stew – was kinda sweet yet full of flavor ! I liked it :)
And lastly Dolsot Bibimbap ! How could I ever pass on this ?

After this feast we went back to the district where I stayed ( Yuen Long ) and had another meal XD . . .

No srsly . . . I had too much food . . . not only that day but actually every day of my three weeks stay in Hong Kong !

Which is why I am on a diet now . . . !

This is a rather healthy and low calorie dessert though !
Loads of various fruit with herbal jelly at the bottom ( black jelly ) ~
Still I was way to full to eat more than a few bites of this . . .
Very typical dessert my dad ordered .
Mango cubes in coconut milk soup with pearl sago ~

lots ‘n’ lots of love ~
~jen
Leave a Reply

